Month: August 2011

  • Denville NJ flooding from Irene


    Center of town completely under water.

  • More pics

    More pics from my home town…

  • Hurricane Irene

    While my home was basically untouched by the Hurricane (Thank God) – my local area is in terrible shape with flooding and uprooted trees.  Here are some pics (all these pics were taken within 500 yards of my house):

     House on the lake  


    The lake’s club house


    Trees which fell and blocked the road

    d
    Another mighty tree


    A house at the end of our street.


    This is the center of our town (route 53).  I’m standing under route 80 and that bridge in front of me is route 46.


    This street (which is on Indian lake) is under water.
                                            

  • longest run in preparation for my upcoming 1/2 marathon

    Today I did my longest training run (12 miles) in preparation for my upcoming 1/2 marathon.  Two weeks and (Lord willing) the race!  Getting a little excited. 

    My run today was a personal record for the distance ran – so I hope, that means that I will be setting a new personal best at this race. 

     

     Psalm 8:1
    O LORD, our Lord, how excellent is thy name in all the earth! who hast set thy glory above the heavens.

  • Amish Bird in the Hand 1/2 marathon: 3wks 2 go


     

    I just registered for the Amish Bird in the Hand 1/2 marathon which is held on Setember 9-10th in Lancaster County, PA. 

    Update: Training is been going well – I had to make some adjustments for family vacation (Virginia and NJ Shore) - but feel I did not lose any ground.  My last two long runs have been my fastest times at those distances (also done in the rain)  - so that makes me believe – I’ll set a personal best when I do the 1/2 marathon.

     

    Next:  Lord willing, I’ll do 11 miles on Saturday, and 12 miles the next and then I tapper down for the race.  I still need to acquire lodging for my family for Friday night before the race. 

    Better is the end of a thing than the beginning thereof (Ecclesiastes 7:8a)