December 1, 2010

  • The Start of a Running Schedule

    Getting started with a project like this is never easy.  You don’t want to start something that you quit on.  So once you announce something like this, and register for the race (something I still need to do) you need to be committed.   Part of being committed is creating a schedule and keeping it up to date.  Also with only 16 weeks to train – I’ll need to challenge myself to move from 4 miles to 26.2 miles.

    Just to get me going quickly put together my first two weeks of running.  I will put together a longer schedule in the next week.

    The point for this schedule is to get me off the starting line – without any injuries.   To this end I’ll be doing additional warm-up exercises before running,
    knee exercises to strenghen my knees and be wearing a brace on my left knee (which was injuried with my last attempt at doing a marathon). 

    Week Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday
    1 rest Easy 1.5m Easy 2m rest Easy 3m rest 4 miles
    2 rest Easy 3m Medium 3m Easy 3m rest x-train 1h 6 miles

    Much of my training from Monday to Friday will be done during my lunch breaks at work.   This will be ran in NYC (lower Manhattan) and during the winter months will be very cold (mostly because of the wind).   I would love to join a gym and run on a treadmill – but treadmill running is not equal exercise to running on the pavement and not to forget running outside is lot cheaper. :)

     Better is the end of a thing than the beginning thereof: and the patient in spirit is better than the proud in spirit. (Ecclesiastes 7:8)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *