December 3, 2010

  • Running in the Cold

    Yesterday my running schedule calls for an easy 3 miles and since the best time I have to run is during my lunch hour, I changed from shirt and tie to my running attire.  A co-worker was surprised to see me dressed for running and started asking me a dozen questions about where I run and if I have any races in mind.  I’m sure this is going to happen again and again in the upcoming months.

    For me, Yesterday was the first day of winter.   It was cold – and the sun was out in defiance of the temperature- but with no avail. (Note to self: Which reminds me I need to pick up some gloves!) Even though it was cold it was quite a beautiful day running along side the Hudson – a little surreal.   Any tension that I was feeling was gone – and I was just living in the moment – feeling very alive.

    I took the above picture – while I was running up and down one of the piers.  To the left are some buildings next to the World Financial Center and to the right (almost dots on this photo) is the Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island.   That dot close to the sun – is not a dot – but is a bird. :)    While not a great picture – I think you can an idea of how lovely it was running yesterday. 

    “Thou hast made summer and winter.”—Psalm 74:17.

     

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *