December 6, 2010

  • First Saturday Evening Run

     

    My long runs are going to be on Saturday evening – after I’ve done all my fixing up around the house.  This Saturday I had to drive my daughter to and from a SAT test center (she thought she did well), go to the hardware store, replace a toilet seat, remove the sand from our sandbox to our local beach, and fix a leaking faucet.   The only thing which did not get done fully was the leaking faucet.  I thought if I replace the washers it would stop leaking – but it did not help.   So next week I’ll have to replace the entire faucet.  Bummer!

    Anyway the purpose of telling you this is because of the problem fixing the sink – I set out on my run later then I should have.  Basically I was running at night, with dim lighting and wearing black of all things.   Half of the run was on sidewalk – but the other half I had to run on the street.  It’s a bit nerve racking waiting for a car to hit you and also irritating having people throw on their high beams and blind you (before hitting you).   Anyway not the smartest thing – and I will seek to be better prepared (reflextive vest, wear bright colors, run in better lite areas, etc…) in the future.   It was a four mile run and I felt very good.   It’s amazing how the miles are going to build on Saturdays in the upcoming weeks.  

    Yea, the darkness hideth not from thee; but the night shineth as the day: the darkness and the light are both alike to thee. Psalm 139:12

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *