February 11, 2012

  • 2012 DC Marathon – Training Week 11 (5 wks to go)

    Update.  This was one tough week, where I did 40 miles.  Now I have only two more hard weeks and then I taper :)  

    Thoughts as the race draws near:  Quite pleased at how my training is going.  While I have miss many of my goals (they were purposely set very high) - my 2012 effort (by God’s grace) is way over what I did last year.  Last year I was running just to complete the distance, this year my goal is to increase my speed – and I have.  For example my last year’s training 20 miles I did at 11:45 per mile, today I did it at 10:17.  With this considered – my time in the 2011 marathon was 10:32 per mile, which was over a minute faster per mile.  This year IF I can do the same – my time should be closer to 9:15 per mile.  

    Matthew 28:20 “…and lo I am with you always even unto the end of the world.”  

    Commentary:  This verse records a promise which Jesus makes to the church - not only that he will never forsake us.  But that He will be with us – in some spiritual/personal way.   A great verse to refect upon during the darkest of days.  

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *